We Have Issues…

  • Masking Tape, People, Masking Tape…

What we have here is a social faux pas. When my mother passed last spring (shout out to Big Ang-raise your glasses high) a nice lady brought a plate of cookies (this plate)

to the house and told me “Keep the plate-someone brought it to my house when my husband died and they didn’t have their name on it  and I’ve never known what to do with it so I’m passing it along to you.” I must say the cookies were tasty and appreciated but now I’m stuck with a plate that was once someone else’s problem.

Isn’t it a rule–when you take food to a funeral in a dish that is not Chinette or a disposable plastic container, you get out the masking tape, put a piece on the underside, and write your name on it. This is not rocket science. One person ignored the rule and now there’s a rogue plate making the rounds. For all I know the person who gave this plate to my cookie lady was saddled with it in a similar fashion and they dispatched it in the most expeditious way they could think of: wait for the next funeral and give it to the bereaved. They won’t notice for days-they’re bereaved-they have other things on their minds

Now I have to figure out what to do with it. I could wait for someone to die (unseemly, I know-I know) and sneak this plate disguised with pound cake on it to their funeral where it will move on to the next stage in its career of becoming someone else’s problem. Or I could just take it to Goodwill, but that doesn’t seem as appropriate now.

We have protocol for a reason.

  • Soul Food or Cracker Food?

Overheard in the women’s locker room at the University Y:

“I’ve been craving soul food but there’s nowhere in the University area to get it.”

“Oh-you should go to Cracker Barrel–especially on Sundays.”

My first two thoughts were “wrong” and “wrong.”

For one thing, there are places in the University area that serve Soul Food. Here, for example, and not terribly much further away, here, and here. And I don’t know what the big deal was about finding such a restaurant in the University area. Charlotte is a town where no one thinks twice about getting in their car to go two blocks down the street. If you’re going to do that you may as well go here, here, or here. Or Google Soul Food Charlotte and find a place that doesn’t have a website I can show you.

Secondly, I don’t associate Cracker Barrel with Soul Food. OK, yes, Cracker Barrel has fried chicken and such, but they describe their menu as country food–which I agree is related to soul food, but I don’t think they’re the same thing. My first thought was Cracker Barrel is cracker food…but what do I know.

Looks like a debate to me. What do y’all think?

from the cluttered desk of  Paula M. Stathakis
This entry was posted in We Have Issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

